Must be at least 18 years of age.
Must complete a Secretary of State approved 6 hour course.
Be a legal California resident
Complete State Exam.
Pass a background check
Have no Felony convictions
You can view these requirements and more information by visiting the Secretary of State website www.sos.ca.gov
Once you’ve completed the mandatory 6 hour education course, you’ll need to register for the California Notary Exam. The Exam is administered through CPS (Cooperative Personnel Services).
You will want to review the exam schedule to find a date and location that works for you and register for the exam online at www.cpshr.us or by calling CPS at
(916) 263-3520, Monday through Friday from 8 AM - 5 PM.
Keep in mind that you’ll need to register at least 15 business days prior to the exam date.
The following is a check list identifying the steps that must be completed to obtain a notary public commission: